Inaugural Positional Awards

Inaugural Positional Awards Presented to College Basketball’s Best Players

LOS ANGELES, CA (April 17, 2015) – On Friday, April 10th, the 12th annual BOB COUSY Point Guard of the Year Award was presented by the College of the Holy Cross to Delon Wright from the University of Utah.

To accompany the Cousy Award this year, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame partnered with its Official Sculptor, Brian Hanlon and Hanlon Sculpture Studio, to create an award to recognize the best male all-around player at each position:

Center of the Year Award
Presented by Wells Fargo to
Frank Kaminsky
University of Wisconsin

Power Forward of the Year Award
Presented by cConnects to
Montrezl Harrell
University of Louisville

Small Forward of the Year Award
Presented by the University of Massachusetts to
Stanley Johnson
University of Arizona

Shooting Guard of the Year Award
Presented by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame to
D’Angelo Russell
The Ohio State University

The five positional awards were awarded to the recipients as part of the ESPN College Basketball Awards show hosted by Reece Davis, Jay Bilas, and Jay Williams, which was shown live on ESPN2 from the Nokia Theater in Los Angeles.  Each of the legends, whose play inspired the creation of the new awards, were on-hand for the inaugural presentation.

To complement the Cousy Award in the women’s game, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame again partnered with Hanlon Sculpture Studio to create its own version of the NANCY LIEBERMAN Point Guard of the Year Award, presented to Moriah Jefferson of the University of Connecticut on April 6th in Tampa, FL.

“Creating everlasting annual awards of basketball’s greatest icons by position is the thrill of a lifetime,” said Hanlon. “Getting to know Bob Cousy and being able to present his award for the past 12 years has been immensely gratifying and educational.  To recognize these young athletes through the earnest, historical significance of the game is great for basketball.”Hanlon Sculpture Studio would like to thank the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame for their continued valuable contribution to the game of basketball and for those that make it special.

For additional pictures of the award presentations, please visit: 2015 College Basketball Awards Gallery


Brian P. Hanlon is a classically-trained master sculptor and founder of Hanlon Sculpture Studio; a full-service art studio that designs, creates, and installs awe-inspiring and signature monuments featuring bronze, aluminum, stainless steel and granite sculptures, illustrative and informational graphics, and interactive kiosks.

Hanlon Sculpture Studio provides complete site design services from sculptures to hard and softscapes, and offers total project management from design to installation and unveiling.  In collaboration with administrative and athletic staff at colleges and universities, the studio develops the scope of artwork projects that are designed to enhance the spirit, pride and tradition of athletics and the campus community.